Italy, with 61 million inhabitants, it is the fifth most populous country in Europe, and the 23rd most populous in the world.  Rome, the capital of Italy, has for centuries been a political and religious center of Western civilization as the capital of the Roman Empire and site of the Vatican. Italy became the birthplace of Maritime republics and the Renaissance. Italy was unified as a democratic republic in 1861. Italy is the fifth most visited country in the world with more than 43 million visitors a year (2010).

In this website, Italy is divided into four main regions: North Italy, Toscana, Rome and Campania.

See more tourist information on Italy.


Toscana landscape Siena-Piazza del Campo Firenze-Cathedral Verona-Balcony of Juliet Padova-Prato della Valle Venice-Grand Canal/Realto bridge Portofino Rome-Colosseuom Rome-Fontana di Trevi Tivoli-Villa d'Este Capri-Faraglioni Pompeii-Temple of Apollo Sorrento Positano Ravello Amalfi Amalfi Coast
  • toscana
  • siena
  • firenze
  • verona
  • padova
  • venice
  • portofino
  • roma
  • roma
  • tivoli
  • capri
  • pompeii
  • sorrento
  • positano
  • ravello
  • amalfi
  • amalfi coast