Switzerland is a federal parliamentary republic consisting of 26 cantons, with Bern as its capital city. While the Alps occupy the greater part of the territory, the Swiss population of approximately 8 million people is concentrated mostly on the Plateau, where the largest cities are to be found. The three largest cities and economic centers are Zurich (the largest city of Switzerland), Geneva and Basel.

The Swiss Confederation has a long history of armed neutrality; it has not been in a state of war internationally since 1815.

Switzerland is one of the richest countries in the world by per capita gross domestic product, and has the highest wealth per adult of any country in the world. Zürich and Geneva have respectively been ranked as the cities with the second and eighth highest quality of life in the world.

Switzerland comprises four main linguistic and cultural regions: German, French, Italian and the Romansh-speaking valleys.

Tourists are drawn to Switzerland's Alpine climate and landscapes, in particular for skiing and mountaineering.

Among the beautiful cities of Switzerland, Lucerne has long been a famous destination for tourists.

On the border with Italy, make a stop in Lugano, one of the most popular tourist destinations in Switzerland.

See more tourist information on Switzerland.


Zurich-at night Bern-Zytglogge Tower Lucerne-Chapel Bridge Bazel-Town Hall Geneve-Jet dEau Lugano-Lake and Monte San Salvatore
  • zurich
  • bern
  • lucerne
  • bazel
  • geneve
  • lugano